WILDHORSES MUSTANG CLUB
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head.

+2
Wolvee
393Bird
6 posters

Go down

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Empty Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head.

Post by 393Bird Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:01 am

As a Teenager, I spent most of my free time under the hood of some sort of a Hot Rod. I was a Mechanic in the Army, and would tinker with the Army vehicles from time to time. In Nan, I found that having some extra power for the Wrecker I drove, came in handy when pulling a broke down 5 ton AND trailer came in handy. I even modified the waste gate on the turbo of my wrecker to help.

I was sent these pictures yesterday from one of the guys that was with me in Nam.

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Richards%201967

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Williamson

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Jeep%20powered%20cart

That is a Jeep Engine mounted side ways. We used the sprokets and chain from a 5 ton wrecker rear winch to transfer power from the engine to the axle.

It was a blast to drive. It was so easy to do wheelies with. One of the guys took it out the gate one day, and down to the main road. As soon as he got going, he met a MP Jeep. He gassed it and almost flipped it over backwards doing a big wheel stand. If it wasn't for that little gas tank, they would never of caught him.

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Smile
393Bird
393Bird
Small Block 289
Small Block 289

Male Number of posts : 128

http://members.tccoa.com/392bird/

Back to top Go down

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Empty Re: Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head.

Post by Guest Thu Apr 16, 2009 11:23 am

Thats awesome

Back to top Go down

Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head. Empty Re: Once a Gear Head, Always a Gear Head.

Post by Wolvee Thu Apr 16, 2009 4:20 pm

Hoooah!
Wolvee
Wolvee
393 Stroker
393 Stroker

Male Number of posts : 1711